Re-open EU

Information for travelers from third countries to the EU

The Council updated the list of countries for which travel restrictions should be lifted. This list will continue to be reviewed and, as the case may be, updated every two weeks.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, Member States should gradually lift travel restrictions at the borders for residents of the following third countries:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Travel restrictions for the special administrative regions of China, Hong Kong, and Macao should also be gradually lifted, provided reciprocity is confirmed. Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican must be considered EU residents for the purposes of this recommendation